LakeCTF is a jeopardy-style security hacking contest organized by the polygl0ts CTF team (plus some friends!) and the EPFL School of Computer and Communication Sciences (IC).

You must first compete in an online qualification round, and then physically compete in the finals in Lausanne. The top teams will have the unique chance to meet the top members of the EPFL research community.

We wish you the best of luck!

Quals schedule

Qualifications start Sat 24th of September, 18:00 UTC
Qualifications end Sun 25th of September, 18:00 UTC

Finals schedule

Fri 4th of November Arrival
15:30 Tour of the EPFL Campus
Sat 5th of November 9:00 CTF Finals Start (INM 165)
17:00 End of competition
17:15 Award ceremony (The SPOT) and apero to meet with EPFL security professors and researchers


CTF Finals INM 165 at EPFL
Hotels Ibis Styles Lausanne Center
Moxy Hotel


  • There is no limit on the number of people who may participate in a single team in the quals. Each player can only join one team, each team should only be registered once.
  • Top 10 teams will qualify for the finals. Only up to 3 non-academic teams can be qualified. The finals will take place physically in Lausanne at EPFL. Only 8 players per team will be allowed to play the finals.
  • A team is considered as academic if all members are either attending high-school, a under-graduate or graduate program. Academic teams can contain students from different schools.
  • Sharing flags or solutions during the contest is strictly prohibited. This action is subject to disqualification.
  • Attacking machines other than those designated as LakeCTF 2022 target machines is prohibited.
  • If you find a bug in the contest infrastructure, congratulations (but you should report it).
  • Flag format: EPFL{...}
  • EPFL students/staff can take part in the quals but are not allowed to qualify for the finals.
  • If you are not sure if something is a violation of the rules, it probably is.


  • Our primary method of communication for the CTF will be the official competition Discord.


As of now, there will be no prizes for the qualifications.
However, all teams that qualify for the finals will have accommodation paid by EPFL and every team member will receive the following prizes :

🥇 First place Odroid N2+.
🥈 Second place Raspberry Pi 4B.
🥉 Third place Arduino Starter Kit.

Bonus rewards:

Best 5 writeups 1 Binary Ninja License.

All finalist teams will receive a bag of EPFL and polygl0ts merch.


LakeCTF's first edition on the special occasion of the 20 years anniversary of the IC School (Computer and Communication Sciences). It will take place on the EPFL Campus in Lausanne, Switzerland.

In collaboration with the IC School, accommodation, a tour of Lausanne, lunch and dinner are provided for the finals.


polygl0ts is the official EPFL CTF team. It was born in 2018 and is still going strong, taking part in major CTFs as part of the bigger organizers team, one of the top teams on CTFtime.